A Change of Focus

Those of you who found this blog because you visited my previous blog may be wondering why the change.  There are two main reasons for this change of focus.  First, my previous blog began as a tool to advocate for specific older children growing up without families by sharing pictures and glimpses of their personalities, making a point to insure that they were seen as individuals and not just an “orphan”.  Both of these children have since been adopted, one of them into our family.  While I didn’t share any of their history on the blog, I still feel that part of their lives is for them to share when and if they chose to.  So, the first reason for the change is privacy.  I will still share my thoughts and some stories from my perspective but I will not be using my children’s names or pictures of their faces (but trust me….they are all adorable!).  This is a personal decision and I am not making a statement about what others should do.

The second reason is as simple as, life changes.  Our family is in a different place now and therefore my focus needs to shift as well.  I have been reading a lot about transracial adoption and the perspectives of adult adoptees on the many issues surrounding adoption.  I will be honest and admit that I did not read the blogs of adult adoptees before our adoption, but now I believe it should be mandatory to read through some of them if you are a prospective adoptive parent, especially when adopting trans-racially. As with anything in life, it is important to look at issues from all perspectives available.  I will elaborate on this more on the “About” page.

One thing that will not change is my focus on advocating for older children growing up without families.  While my eyes have been opened to the need to put more focus on programs and changes that will help to avoid children leaving their families in the first place, I still believe there is a place for adoption and that children should not have to grow up without a family.

2 thoughts on “A Change of Focus

Leave a Reply

